The number of versions to keep can be set in the Pool configuration section of MCM.
Here are the four options and their file retention settings:
|Keep 30||Up to 10 versions for the current day||1 version per day for the last 10 days.||1 version per week for the last 10 weeks.|
|Keep 300||Up to 50 versions for the current day||1 version per day for the last 50 days.||1 version per week for the last 200 weeks.|
This retention policy can help mitigate malicious or accidental save activity. For example, if a pool is configured with a "Keep 30 versions" policy, a malicious user who saved 30 corrupted versions of the file would destroy the versions saved on that day, but would not affect the saved versions from previous days or weeks.
Deleted File Retention
Deleted files are only purged from the cloud in two situations:
- The user manually purges the file in the Team Portal.
- The number or age of a previous file version exceeds the limit (see table above).
Otherwise, deleted files will be kept in the cloud forever and can be restored as needed.
Changing the File Retention Setting
When the file retention policy is reduced (for example, from Keep All to Keep 30), all existing previous versions will be kept until a new version is saved.
For example, if you switch from Keep All to Keep 30 and 100 versions of the file are stored in the cloud, all 100 versions will be kept until a new version of the file is saved. When a new version is created, the previous versions will be evaluated according to the file retention table above and versions that do not need the retention criteria will be purged. Note that this does not mean that 30 versions will be kept. If all 100 versions were created yesterday, for example, only one version would be kept due to the Keep 30/Days policy.