Select the share by clicking on the Share badge to open the Share Detail window.
Note: Changes to the Share may require the device to reset services that may interrupt connections to the device. Devices may take a few seconds before they are accessible again.
From this window, you may edit the share's information. The share information is divided into 2 sections:
- DFS Targets
After making any changes, you may click APPLY to save changes without closing the window, or click SAVE to save changes and close the window.
Edit the Name, Comment (optional), and view the Share Type.
Give the share any name you wish. It must conform with the samba share naming rules.
Optionally, you can create or edit a comment for the pool.
DFS Roort shares cannot change their Share Type.
DFS Root share are available on all CacheDrives. Permissions to DFS targets are controlled by the shares targeted in the short cut.
Add or remove shares to the DFS Root.
Shares listed in the DFS Target appear as shortcuts under the DFS Root Share.
Add shares to the DFS root.
Enter the name of the target to appear in the Root share in samba.
Specify the share to be linked through DFS Root.
Specify Subfolder/Subfolder in Share (Optional)
Check "Specify Subfolder" to enable using a subfolder of the specified share instead of the share itself as the DFS Target.
Subfolder in Share
Enter the folder in the share to use as the target. The system does not check if the folder exists. Choosing a folder that does not exist will result in an error when attempting to access the DFS Target from the DFS Root in samba.
Click the red trash can to delete the DFS Target from the root.
DELETE a Share
Click DELETE to permanently delete a share. A pop-up window will appear with a warning message about deleting shares. You will need to type the name of the share into the pop-up window to confirm deletion of the share.
Without typing the Share name properly, the DELETE button in this window is greyed out and not functional.
Note: Proceed with caution. If you delete a share, all files in the share will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.
A gateway must be on-line in order to delete a share. If no gateways are online, the DELETE button will be disabled.
Note: When deleting a share with a large amount of data, it will take time for the system to complete the process. During that time, you may still see the data is available.