Manage Shares

Select the share by clicking on the Share badge to open the Share Detail panel.



From this panel, you can edit the share's information.


Share Information

In Share Manage panel, edit the Name, add an optional Comment, manage User and Gateway Permissions, connect to ECHO, specify the \Upload Window and Bandwidth, and Delete the share.



Name Information

Give the pool any name you wish. You may want to choose a name that describes the group of files in the pool such as the function of the files or an organizational unit.


Comment (optional)

Optionally, you can create or edit a comment for the pool.


Edit User Permissions



Click the Edit Icon to open the User- and Group-based access permissions panel.




Default  Access

The permissions for all users in the system.


Read/Write
Users can read and write files to the share. Users must be authenticated to access the share. Admins can specify users/groups to a Read Only exclusion list.
Read Only
Users can read files from the share. Users must be authenticated to access the share. Admins can specify users/groups to a Read/Write exclusion list.
No Access
Users cannot see the share. Admins can specify a Read Only and Read/Write exclusion lists.


Allow Guest Access

If Allow Guest Access is enabled, any user will have access to the Share. The default share created by Morro Data has Allow Guest Access enabled.


In the example above, the share has no Guest Access, which means users  must enter a user name and password to access the share. 


Default Access is set to "No Access", which means only users in the exclusion lists can access the share. 


Exclusion Lists specifies which users have Read/Write or Read Only access to the share.


Read/Write List
Users in the groups Sales, Sales - East, Sales - West, Executive, Local Admin can read and write files to the share.
Read Only List
Users in the group Marketing can only read files from the share.



Edit Gateway Permissions

Gateway Permissions determine which gateway has access to the share. By enabling restricting gateway permissions, you are creating a location based security for access to the shares in your system. 


Screen%20Shot%202016-10-07%20at%206.20.50%20PM.png


Click the Edit Icon to open the Gateway Permissions panel.


Screen%20Shot%202016-10-07%20at%206.31.19%20PM.png

Figure 1: Gateway Permissions panel


Gateway Permissions Information

Access

The Access column set the access permissions for the share. The valid values are:

  • NO: No Access
  • RW: Read/Write Access (Full control)
  • RO: Read-Only

To disable access to a share in the Team Portal, set the Access to "NO"


Prefetch

Check the box for prefetch to have all files copied to the share downloaded to the gateway immediately. When prefetch is enabled, the user does not need to wait for the file to be downloaded from the cloud before it is available.


To save the settings, close the Gateway Permissions panel and click SAVE in the Manage Share panel.


Connect ECHO

ECHO is a Morro App which mirrors files between a share and an external file sharing service such as Dropbox. Via ECHO, the user's Morro File System is connected to other file sharing services for possible external sharing and collaboration.



ECHO uses a CacheDrive to sync the Morro Data share with a folder in the target account. All files in there will be sent between the ECHO account and the Morro Data share through this CacheDrive. Therefore, the CacheDrive must remain powered on with an internet connection that has access to the servers of the service hosting the account. For example, some countries ban a service, but allows access ot the Morro Data service. A CacheDrive residing in that country should not be chosen as the Master Gateway for that share. 


Note: You must first add the ECHO accounts in the Apps page. For more information, reference the section on Apps.


Upload Window and Bandwidth

Starting in version 4.0, the Upload Window and Bandwidth schedule and settings are now in the Device panel


To specify a share to use the Upload Window and Bandwidth setting, enable the switch in the Share panel.



Advanced Options

Click "Show Advanced Options" contains two sections:

  • Share folder security: To manage folder security.
  • Advanced SMB share option: To special settings for samba.



Share Folder Security

Use the Folder Security to specify access permissions to sub-folders in a share. Click "Edit folder security" to open the Folder Security panel.



Reset Folder Permission

Click RESET FOLDER PERMISSION to change the share folder's permissions to the access permission specified in the User Access Permission for the share.


Share Folder Owner

Sets the CREATOR_OWNER value for share.


Share Folder Group

Sets the CREATOR_GROUP value for the share.


Access for this Folder

Use this section to set the add or delete users/groups from the ACL permissions list and specify the access permission for users or groups for the share.


The following actions can be performed for the share folder:


Action
Description
ADD
Add a users or group to the ACL permissions list.
DELETE
Remove a user or group from the ACL permissions list. Check a user from the list of users and groups in this section and click DELETE.
REVERT
Set all the values back to the way they were set before making any changes.


Access for new folder/file

Use this section to set the add or delete users/groups from the ACL permission list and specify the access permission for users or groups for new folders or files created in the share.


Action
Description
READ WRITE
Grants users Read/Write access. Works as full modify privileges.
READ ONLY
Grants users Read only access. Users cannot write to the folder or overwrite the files.
NO ACCESS
Prevents all access to the files and folders.


Advanced SMB Share Options

Use these settings to affect the performance of the device.



Don't use ea to save streams

Turns off the xattr setting in samba which can improve file performance. Removing xattr disables extended attribute settings which is used in features such as Windows ACL.


Disable oplocks

Oplocks essentially means that the client is allowed to download and cache a file on its hard drive while making changes; if a second client wants to access the file, the first client receives a break and must synchronize the file back to the server. This can give significant performance gains in some cases; some programs insist on synchronizing the contents of the entire file back to the server for a single change.


Prevent folder rename when used (slower)

Prevents users from renaming folders if another user has a file in the folder or a sub-folder open. This results in a folder lock.


Hide share from browsing

Disables share from being searchable by browsing in Explorer or Finder. Users with access permissions can still access the share. Behaves like hidden shares in Windows.


Sync temporary locks (slower)

Disables syncing locking of files to improve downsync speeds. Enable this to improve downsync speeds from the cloud for initial seeding. Not recommended when syncing between devices.


Click SAVE to accept changes.


Note: Changes to the Share may require the device to reset services and may interrupt connections to the device. Devices may take a few seconds before they are accessible again.



DELETE a Share

Click DELETE to permanently delete a share. A pop-up window will appear with a warning message about deleting shares. You will need to type the name of the share into the pop-up window to confirm deletion of the share.


Screen%20Shot%202016-10-10%20at%203.05.30%20PM.png


Without typing the Share name properly, the DELETE button in this window is greyed out and not functional.

Note: Proceed with caution. If you delete a share, all files in the share will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.


A gateway must be on-line in order to delete a share. If no gateways are online, the DELETE button will be disabled.

Note: When deleting a share with a large amount of data, it will take time for the system to complete the process. During that time, you may still see the data is available.